To me this is a tough topic to discuss, and a big part of it is because I know both the schools reasons behind what they do, but I also know the parent side of this topic. This type of schooling can be beneficial however, because it allows students to be outdoors more often. In some instances it can also increase their creativity.

“But the original meaning of hacking is worth reclaiming.  Hackers are the folks you want on your side when something’s not working like you want it to.  Hackers improve things.” (http://budtheteacher.com/blog/2012/05/24/centering-on-essential-lenses/)

I do not like this thought when discussing our school systems or children, because in a way it makes me feel like as a school employee that the system is failing our children. Despite our efforts to create individuals with great personalities into adults who love their jobs, and enjoy their lives later on. Bud Hunt did make a couple of good points and broke them down into three key items which are making, hacking, and play. Through Hacking our youth creates individuality, and promotes creativity with adventure. It is also a really great learning environment for those that do better with the hands on activities.

However I feel that there were a few questions that he did not answer. One being how does hackschooling promote productivity and good work ethics? I think that both of these things are needed to help achieve lifelong goals and to prosper as an adult. I also do not think that you can play all of the time and then expect to be a good hard working adult. You have to take pride in what you do even if it is washing windows, and I do not feel that this is a way to teach that skill. Although play is fine once in a while and at younger ages it is key to  creating relationships and social skills with other children. This would be one of the reasons that I would bring some form of play into my classroom, and it would also create an environment where the student could then express themselves in a controlled, enriching, and creative way.

This article was pretty interesting to me in the sense that it did in fact open my eyes into knowing what exactly is going on in other places as well as here in my hometown. I may not agree with some of the things that are being done, but I can change how I teach in my classroom so that perhaps I can combine multiple benefits for my children to learn from.

2 thoughts on ““Hackschooling”

  1. Although I see that you have some valid points I also think that you’re taking some of the points a little too literally. I feel the point of Bud’s view was not actual play, but rather giving the students opportunity to express their feelings, views, or even subject matter through a different approach than just speaking. Imagine from a mathematics point of view. If I throw down 150 M&M’s and ask how many multiples #100 has by eating the M&M’s is that true child’s play or is it engaging the students to think with a game instead of just a calculator?

    Like

  2. I really agree that most of these sources seemed to ignore the more practical side of hackschooling. It sounds good in theory, but I have trouble believing it would result in the same quality of education as a student would receive from the traditional schooling system.

    Like

Leave a Reply

