This week I read the book Pathki Nana written by Kenneth Thomasama. This story is one of epic proportions because it starts with a young lady who was taken from her tribe and was forced to live in another. In this other tribe she is forced to work foe this elderly lady who is mean and nasty to Pathki. However, over a period of time and some heavy planning Pathki ends up escaping her captors and starts the treacherous journey back to her own tribe.

images

Along Pathki nanas journey she is plagued with an illness that causes her to find a natural hot spring. When she finds this hot spring she ends up digging out the opening enough to make a small pool for her to lay and soak in. After some time resting and taking care of herself she continues her long walk home. She is also chased by her captors who are reluctant to allow Pathki to leave them. She avoids be i g recaptured by hiding under a small bundle of sticks, and brush.

The author Kenneth Thomasama done a great job writing this book because once I started it I could not put it down. I wanted to find out whether or not Pathki Nana would make it back to her tribe, and no I am not gonna tell you the ending because that would ruin it for you. The story is though really good, and I would recommend this to my 5th or 6th graders just because some of the words may be hard to understand at a lower grade level. Also at this age they are just learning to read and if they happen to love this book the author has written a few others that are similar that I seen when I visited the library.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. This sounds really interesting. I am glad you didn’t spoil the ending it sounds like a book that I would be interested in reading myself. It would be great book for kids who like books that are more exciting and thrilling. I look forward to reading this book. It would also be a good one to add to a classroom library for diversity.

    Like

  2. I have never heard of this book or this author but I think its really awesome that you chose one that show diversity since we just wrote blogs about diversity in children’s literature. Did you find the story to be one that is relatable for some children?

    Like

Leave a Reply

